Staff of the Yellowstone Historic Center

Kaitlin Johnson, Executive Director

Kaitlin Johnson was born and raised in West Yellowstone. After graudating from West Yellwostone High School in 2011, she continued her education at Carroll College in Helena, Montana. In 2015, she graduated with honors obtaining a Bachelor of the Arts in Mathematics with a Concentration in Business and Economics. Kaitlin moved back to West Yellowstone shortly after graduation and worked at Yellowstone Basin Bank until she was offered a position with Yellowstone Historic Center. Kaitlin now manages both the Museum and the Union Pacific Dining Lodge.

Kathryn McKee, Collections and Exhibits Curator

Kathryn McKee moved to West Yellowstone after completing her MA degree at the University of Wyoming in Laramie, where she studied the 19th Century American West. She is originally from western North Carolina and obtained her BA degree with majors in U.S. History and Peace, War, and Defense from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She moved to Cody, Wyoming for two years where she worked at the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center as well as the Buffalo Bill Center of the West before beginning her graduate studies. Kathryn manages the YHC collections and works with the historic objects and archives.

Ellen Butler, Administrative Assistant & Assistant Curator

Ellen moved to Montana and joined the staff of YHC at the beginning of the 2017 season as the Museum Supervisor. Originally from Rushville, Illinois, Ellen attended the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and the University of Illinois Springfield where she received her B.A.s in History and Political Science and her M.A. in History, respectively. Throughout the offseason, Ellen works part-time as Administrative Assistant, and part-time as Assistant Curator, helping with the collections, archives, and exhibits.

Museum Staff

Each year, the YHC hires 5-6 employees as Museum Staff. These front-line employees provide information, sell admission tickets, sell gift shop items, clean the museum, care for the exhibits, and do whatever else comes up during the course of a typical museum day. These folks are the backbone of our organization – stop by and meet them in person!

Check out our information forĀ current job opportunities.

The Yellowstone Historic Center Board of Directors

The Yellowstone Historic Center is governed by a Board of Directors that meets quarterly, usually in February, May, July, and October. Board meetings are held in West Yellowstone, MT. The Executive Committee, which is comprised of the Officers, meets in the months when full Board Meetings are not held.

Board Officers:
Rawhide Johnson, Board Chair – Cody, Wyoming
Glen Loomis, Board Vice Chair – West Yellowstone, Montana
Barbett Ott, Board Treasurer – West Yellowstone, Montana
Bruce Gourley, Board Secretary – Manhattan, Montana

Board Members:
Linda Blank – West Yellowstone, Montana
Judy DeBoer – Muskegon, Michigan
Cindy Salisbury – Portola Valley, California
Jerry Schmier – West Yellowstone, Montana
Chip Smith – West Yellowstone, Montana

Honorary Board Member:
Heather Johnson, West Yellowstone, Montana

Board member login