Staff of the Yellowstone Historic Center

Kaitlin Johnson, Executive Director
Kaitlin Johnson was born and raised in West Yellowstone. After graduating from West Yellowstone High School in 2011, she continued her education at Carroll College in Helena, Montana. In 2015, she graduated with honors obtaining a Bachelor of the Arts in Mathematics with a Concentration in Business and Economics. Kaitlin moved back to West Yellowstone shortly after graduation and worked at Yellowstone Basin Bank until she was offered a position with Yellowstone Historic Center. Kaitlin now manages both the Museum and the Union Pacific Dining Lodge. Kaitlin began serving on the Museums Association of Montana Board of Directors in 2019.

Ellen Butler, Museum Supervisor
Ellen moved to Montana and joined the staff of YHC in May of 2017 as Museum Supervisor. Originally from Illinois, Ellen attended the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and the University of Illinois Springfield where she received B.A.s in History and Political Science and an M.A. in History, respectively. Throughout the off-season, Ellen works as Curator, managing the collections, archives, and exhibits, and as Fundraising Assistant, helping with event planning, the membership drive, grant writing, and other fundraising projects.

Museum Staff
Each year, the YHC hires 5-6 employees as Museum Staff. These front-line employees provide information, sell admission tickets and gift shop items, clean the museum, care for the exhibits, and do whatever else comes up during the course of a typical museum day. These folks are the backbone of our organization – stop by and meet them in person. Check out our information for current job opportunities.

The Yellowstone Historic Center Board of Directors

The Yellowstone Historic Center is governed by a Board of Directors that meets quarterly, usually in February, May, July, and October. Board meetings are held in West Yellowstone, MT. The Executive Committee, which is comprised of the Officers, meets in the months when full Board Meetings are not held.

Board Officers:
Bruce Gourley, Chair – Manhattan, MT
Glen Loomis, Vice Chair – West Yellowstone, MT
Chipper Smith, Treasurer – West Yellowstone, MT
Rawhide Johnson, Secretary – Cody, WY

Board Members:
Trish Barnes (Board Member Elect) – West Yellowstone, MT
Peter Donau (Board Member Elect) – West Yellowstone, MT
Glenn Hales (Board Member Elect) – West Yellowstone, MT
Amanda Newell – West Yellowstone, MT
Garrett Ostler – West Yellowstone, MT

Honorary Board Member:
Linda Blank – West Yellowstone, MT
Heather Johnson, West Yellowstone, MT


Founders’ Circle

The members of the Founders’ Circle made significant contributions to the Yellowstone Historic Center during its earliest years. The support of these individuals, organizations, and businesses enabled the Yellowstone Historic Center to become the vital organization it is today.

Bill & Afton Boyd
Linda Fontenot & George Caine
Tom & Sue Cole
Timothy & Noelle Daley
Andrew & Judith DeBoer
Denny & Jeanene Dickenson
Zeke & Kay Dumke
Jan & Cal Dunbar
Eagle Company
Byrns & Corinne Fagerburg
First Interstate Bank
First Security Bank Foundation
Daniel Lorenzetti & Linda Rice Lorenzetti
Michael & Andrea Manship
Bob & Linda Pembroke
Lewis and Linda Robinson
Dan & Manon Russell
Jerry & Verlene Schmier
Seely & Howell Properties
Paul Shea
Arne & Stephanie Siegel
Union Pacific Foundation
Ventures West
Hamilton Stores
Povah Family Companies
Tom & Jean Young